Council for the Curriculum, Examinations and Assessment
CCEA Curriculum Monitoring Programme 2018-19

NOTE: CCEA will not be accepting entries from English centres for GCSE courses that begin in or after September 2012

GCSE in Learning for Life and Work

Centres have a choice between two GCSE Learning for Life and Work specifications from September 2009:

  • Learning for Life and Work – three units in total (two controlled assessment tasks/reports and one terminal examination covering all three areas of content); or
  • Learning for Life and Work: Modular – five units in total (two controlled assessment tasks/reports and three modular examinations – one for each of the three areas of content).

These specifications for GCSE Learning for Life and Work are available for first teaching from September 2009. We will make the first certification in 2011.

Through studying this specification, students gain knowledge and understanding of:

  • diversity, social inclusion, rights and responsibilities;
  • the role of government and non-governmental organisations in protecting people’s rights;
  • democratic institutions and processes;
  • how to maximise physical and mental health and well-being;
  • relationships and sexuality;
  • how to be a discerning consumer;
  • the impact of globalisation on employment;
  • recruitment and selection procedures;
  • self-employment;
  • the work environment; and
  • the social responsibility of businesses.

These courses provide students with the skills they require to think independently, make informed decisions, and take appropriate action when faced with personal, social, economic and employment issues.