Council for the Curriculum, Examinations and Assessment

Employability Skills


Employability Skills Awards at Level 1 and Level 2 (QCF)

Our Level 1 and Level 2 Awards in Employability Skills are accredited to the Qualifications and Credit Framework (QCF). The QCF is a new way of recognising achievement. It is a unit-based framework in which each unit has a specific credit value. One credit represents approximately ten hours of learning time. Learners can accumulate credit for each block of learning or unit that they complete.

These awards are part of a suite of QCF qualifications designed to recognise achievement of units and full qualifications. They assess the different skills and characteristics needed to gain employment or retain it and continue personal development in a role.

The course of study for these qualifications helps learners to explore a range of job search skills, including:

  • personal preparation for employment;
  • self-improvement; and
  • effective behaviour at work.

Instructions for Conducting Coursework

In order to support centres in making accurate and consistent assessment decisions CCEA has produced the following support documentation for centres. The instructions are for use in all ACETS* qualifications. They cover the setting, supervision, authentication, marking, internal moderation and standardisation of coursework in centres. Centres are strongly advised to download both documents.

Getting the Quality Right: Centre Guidelines for Managing Quality Assurance for ACETS Qualifications