CCEA legacy website
Content will no longer be kept uptodate from Monday 20th January 2020
CCEA Curriculum Monitoring Programme 2018-19
This is our legacy website and will no longer be kept uptodate from Monday 20th January 2020.


Useful Downloads

(PDF), Last Updated: 08 June 2017
For first teaching from September 2016. For first award of AS level in Summer 2017. For first award of A level in Summer 2018.

(PDF), Last Updated: 24 November 2016

Related Circular

S/IF/19/19 - March 2016 - Local Elections May 2019
(PDF), Last Updated: 28 March 2019

S/IF/42/16 - October 2016 - Moderation sample material for AS Biology 2017
(PDF), Last Updated: 27 October 2016

GCE Biology has two levels: AS and A2. There are three units in each level. Students can take the AS qualification or complete both levels to achieve the full A level qualification. The AS units make up 40% of the full A level qualification, and the A2 units make up 60%.

At each level, students must study all three units.

AS Level
Unit AS 1: Molecules and Cells 
Unit AS 2: Organisms and Biodiversity 
Unit AS 3: Practical Skills in AS Biology

A2 Level
Unit A2 1: Physiology, Coordination and Control, and Ecosystems
Unit A2 2: Biochemistry, Genetics and Evolutionary Trends
Unit A2 3: Practical Skills in Biology