Council for the Curriculum, Examinations and Assessment
CCEA Curriculum Monitoring Programme 2018-19

Frequently Asked Questions

What grades can students achieve with this award?

We award GCSE qualification on an eight grade scale from A* to G, with A* being the highest. We report the results of candidates who fail to attain a grade G as unclassified (U).

Can students resit individual assessment units?

Candidates may choose to resit individual assessment units once only. Candidates may resit the unit at a different tier if they wish. The better result for each assessment unit counts towards the GCSE qualification; however, if a unit forms part of the terminal requirement then the most recent result must be used.

Are students assessed on the quality of their written communication?

Students must demonstrate the quality of their written communication, ensuring that text is legible and that spelling, punctuation and grammar are accurate so that their meaning is clear. Examiners and teachers assess the quality of students' written communication in their extended writing and responses to examination questions.

What skills can students develop by studying this specification?

  • application of number;
  • communication;
  • improving their own learning and performance;
  • information and communication technology;
  • problem solving; and
  • working with others.