Council for the Curriculum, Examinations and Assessment
CCEA Curriculum Monitoring Programme 2018-19

NOTE: Changes to A2 1 and A2 2 for first examination in Summer 2020. Please refer to Circular S/IF/30/19 - April 2019 for more information.


Useful Downloads

(PDF), Last Updated: 18 April 2019

(PDF), Last Updated: 24 November 2016

Related Circular

S/IF/30/19 - April 2019 - Revised GCE History Changes to the Specification
(PDF), Last Updated: 30 April 2019

S/IF/56/18 - September 2018 - AS Unit 2 Option 1-6
(PDF), Last Updated: 02 October 2018

AS Unit 1 Question 2 (S/IF/19/18)
(PDF), Last Updated: 23 May 2018

A2 Unit 2 Question 2 (S/IF/18/18)
(PDF), Last Updated: 23 May 2018

AS Unit 1 Question 2(b) (S/IF/53/16)
(PDF), Last Updated: 19 December 2016

The GCE specification has two levels: AS and A2. There are two units at each level. The AS units make up 40% of the full A level qualification, and the A2 units make up 60%.

Students may take the AS qualification without progressing to A2. To achieve the full A level qualification, students must complete both the AS and A2 units.

AS Level
AS 1: Historical Investigations and Interpretations
AS 2: Historical Conflict and Change

A2 Level
A2 1: Change Over Time
A2 2: Historical Investigations and Interpretations