Council for the Curriculum, Examinations and Assessment
CCEA Curriculum Monitoring Programme 2018-19


What is the classification code for this specification?

The classification code for this specification is 0910.

What grades can students achieve with this award?

We award AS qualifications on a five grade scale from A to E, with A being the highest grade. For A Level qualifications we award on a scale from A* to E, with A* being the highest grade. To achieve an A* students must achieve a grade A on their full A Level qualification and at least 90 percent of the maximum uniform marks across the A2 units. We report the results of students who fail to attain a grade E as unclassified (U).

Can students resit individual assessment units?

Students may attempt a unit as many times as they wish. However, they should be aware that when they re-enter units that involve group work (AS 1, AS 2 and A2 2) they will be required to work as members of a new group for each unit to produce new assessment evidence.

Are students assessed on the quality of their written communication?

Students must demonstrate the quality of their written communication, ensuring that spelling, punctuation and grammar are accurate so that their meaning is clear. Examiners and teachers assess the quality of students' written communication in their extended writing.